Corporate Sustainability at VIS

Letter from Chairman

Breaking New Ground In Time Of Change

Image As a responsible corporate citizen, VIS is committed to exert its influences to endorse, support, and practice business ethics, employee rights, health, and safety, and environmental standards recognized internationally within the scope of law, and proactively engages in environmental protection and social participation, practicing environmental sustainability and creating common good for the society through concrete actions.

In 2019, VIS acquired GlobalFoundries' 8-inch fab in Singapore and its MEMS IPs and business. Through the effort of all employees, VIS achieved great results in both annual revenue and profit. Steady profit allowed VIS to continue investing resources to promote and practice corporate social responsibility (CSR), strengthen communication with stakeholders, including shareholders, customers, suppliers, employees, media, and the public, listen to all stakeholders' voices, and keep pace with global trends and introduce new changes in the aspects of corporate governance, environmental protection, and social participation.

In 2018, VIS tried to define 14 major CSR topics jointly with our stakeholders for the first time in response to the 17 SDGs set forth by the United Nations; in 2019, we further focused on the opinions of the management team through VIS CSR Questionnaires. Based on stakeholders' expectations and senior executives' viewpoints, VIS defined and ranked the levels of materiality of major CSR topics. Through two dimensions, "Level of Stakeholder Concern" and "Impact on Corporate Operation," major CSR topics were ranked according to respective materiality for more precise presentation. CSR Committee also targeted the 12 major CSR topics identified in 2019 and formulated sustainable goals and management guidelines for each topic, responding to stakeholders' demands with a concrete foundation of CSR development.

In the area of corporate governance, VIS has complied with corporate governance principles, and in accordance with relevant laws and regulations, established effective corporate governance frameworks that strengthen the functionality of the board of directors and fulfill the functions of the Audit Committee. While maintaining normal business development and protection of shareholders' equity, VIS also respects the rights of stakeholders and strengthens information disclosure of corporate governance to promote information transparency. VIS has achieved the honor of top 5% listed companies at TPEx for five consecutive years in the corporate governance evaluation conducted by Taiwan Stock Exchange. In 2019, VIS made plan to establish "Risk Management Committee" in 2020, which will regularly report to the board and Audit Committee, strengthening the Company's risk control and management through better defined organizational responsibilities and duties.

In the area of environmental protection, VIS undertakes precautionary environmental protection measures to minimize adverse effects of its manufacturing operation on the community, environment and global warming, and continuously invests in the development and deployment of environmentally friendly technologies. In 2019, VIS received a score of A- for the first time among 8,400 companies participating in the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) in the world. VIS continues to implement various energy-saving and carbon-reduction projects, and is projected to reduce GHS emissions to 22% below the 2015 level by 2025. Also, VIS has developed technical platform for power management IC that saves more energy, increasing the share of high eco-friendly components in products. Furthermore, VIS has proactively participated in avocation of environmental protection, for example, the radio program sponsored by VIS has invited experts to discuss climate change and environmental protection related issues with the public. Also, in March 2020, VIS participated in the global energy-saving event, "Earth Hour;" without compromising the production of wafer fabs, VIS turned off the lights in the office areas for one hour to save energy and reduce carbon emissions.

As for social participation, VIS has encouraged employees to make use of own expertise and enthusiasm, and join the Company to help those in need, support education in rural areas, and partake in community building, becoming the driving force of social development; also, VIS leads the entire supply chain to partake in the aforementioned endeavors to maximize the influences. In 2019, VIS achieved historical highs in terms of donated resources, numbers of volunteering person-times and hours, as well as total amount of charity donation and the number of organizations and groups helped. Purposes were specified for specific donations to more effectively and concretely help those in need.

In 2019, VIS' social participation and innovation endeavors included: inviting social welfare groups to set up charity booths at the fair on Family Day, and distributing charity raffle tickets to employees, which could only be used at specified booths to help generate profits for social welfare groups; providing lunch boxes with suppliers and having volunteers to join senior citizens in communities for meals; organizing fundraising campaign within the Company and making use of volunteering employees' musical skills to help children at children's home through art therapy; furthermore, VIS invited suppliers to participate in its annual charity year-end party and maintain the Cherry Blossom Park and Qianjia Park in Hsinchu City adopted by the Company, leading the entire supply chain to participate in charity.

Beginning in late 2019, the outbreak of COVID-19 has spread throughout the world. As soon as the first imported case was confirmed in January 2020, VIS established an internal interdepartmental pandemic-prevention taskforce to formulate and execute various pandemic-prevention measures. To date, all VIS employees at fabs in Taiwan and Singapore are in sound health, and there is no confirmed case. All four fabs have remained normal operations as VIS has cooperated with both governments' pandemic-prevention requirements.

Currently, the pandemic continues to affect the world, and the development of the US-China trade war remains complicated and unpredictable. VIS will continue to safeguard the health and safety of all employees. Myself, as well as all members of the management team, will do our best to protect the Company's interests through changing situations and cautiously move forward. Also, VIS will continue to invest resources to achieve environmental sustainability, create value-added for all stakeholders, and march toward a future of synergy and common good.

Chairman of VIS

Leuh Fang

永续管理

董事长的话

在变动中开创新局

Image 身为负责任的企业公民,世界先进承诺尽其影响力,在合法范围内,拥护、支持并实践商业道德、员工权益、健康及安全与环境领域之国际间认同之标准,并积极投入环境保护与社会参与,以行动实践环境永续,创造社会共好。

2019年,世界先进併购了格芯公司位于新加坡的一座八吋晶圆厂与其微机电智财权(MEMS IP)与业务;在全体同仁的努力之下,全年的营收与获利也双双缔造佳绩。稳健的获利有助于我们持续投入资源,推动与实践企业社会责任(Corporate Social Responsibility, CSR),持续深化与股东、客户、供应商、员工、媒体及社会大众等利害关系人的沟通,聆听利害关系人的声音,也在公司治理、环境保护与社会参与等各个面向上,顺应国际趋势,聚焦改变。

2018年,世界先进首度尝试以与利害关系人一同定义出的CSR重大议题,回应联合国订定的17项永续发展目标(Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs);2019年,我们更进一步将CSR重大议题调查强化公司经 营团队的意见。藉由利害关系人的期待与内部高阶经理人的观点,共同定义出CSR议题的重大性排序,透过「利害关系人关注程度」与「对公司营运影响程度」的二维向度,将CSR议题的重大性排序做更精准地呈现。同时,企业社会责任委员会也针对2019年调查出的12个CSR重大议题,订定出每个议题的永续目标与管理方针,以具体的CSR发展依据,回应利害关系人。

在公司治理方面,世界先进遵循公司治理原则,依照相关法令规定,建置有效之公司治理架构、强化董事会职能并发挥审计委员会功能,在保持正常经营发展及保障股东权益之同时,亦尊重利害关系人之权益,强化公司治理资讯揭露以提升资讯透明度。世界先进已连续五年在台湾证交所与柜檯买卖中心的公司治理评鑑中荣获上柜公司排名前5%。2019年更规划于2020年设立「风险管理委员会」,定期向董事会与审计委员会报告,以更严谨的权责组织,加强公司的风险控管。

在环境保护方面,世界先进致力于环境保护措施以缩减其生产营运对社区、环境及地球暖化之不利影响,并持续对环境保护友善之技术的研发与执行之投资。2019年,世界先进首度在碳揭露专案(Carbon Disclosure Project, CDP)的全球8,400个参与评比的企业中,名列A-等级,并持续推动各项节能减碳方案,预计达到2025年单位晶圆面积温室气体减量较2015年减量22%之成效。同时,在电源管理IC领域开发更节能的技术平台,提高具环保效益产品之功率元件占比。此外,世界先进更积极参与环境保护之倡议,例如:在公司赞助的广播节目中,邀请专家与社会大众一起探讨气候变迁及环境保护相关议题;我们也首度于2020年3月与全球同步,参与「地球一小时」的国际节能倡议活动,在不影响晶圆厂生产的前提下,推动办公区域关灯一小时,响应节能减碳。

在社会参与方面,世界先进鼓励同仁发挥自身的专业与热情,与公司一同帮助弱势族群、支持偏乡教育、参与社区营造,成为社会向上提升的力量;并带动供应链一同加入,扩大影响力。2019年,世界先进的物资捐赠、志工服务人次、时数,以及公益款项金额与所帮助的公益团体数目,皆达历年来最高;各项公益捐款以也设立指定用途,以专款专用的方式,更有效益且具体地帮助弱势团体。

2019年,世界先进的社会参与创新作为计有:邀请社福团体于公司家庭日园游会设立公益摊位,由公司发放公益园游券给同仁,指定于公益摊位消费,为社福团体创造获利;与供应商一同提供午餐餐盒,由志工同仁陪伴邻里独老共餐,传递温暖;发动公司同仁爱心捐款,与结合志工同仁的音乐专长,帮助育幼院院童踏上艺术治疗之旅;此外,公司行之多年的爱心餐会活动,以及公司认养的新竹市樱花公园及千甲公园之维护,在2019年都力邀供应商参与,带动供应链一起做公益。

2019年底开始,新冠肺炎(COVID-19)逐渐疫染全球。世界先进在2020年1月份台湾出现第一宗境外移入病例起,即在公司内部成立跨组织的防疫小组,拟订与执行各项防疫措施。截至目前为止,世界先进在台湾厂区与新加坡厂区的所有同仁,健康状况良好,没有同仁染疫。在公司全力配合两地政府的防疫要求下,四座晶圆厂的营运一切正常。

当前,全球疫情尚未结束,中美贸易争端的发展仍旧複杂且诡谲多变。世界先进会持续力守同仁健康与安全的防线,我与经营团队的所有成员亦会竭尽所能,在变动的局势中护卫公司利益,审慎开创新局;同时,继续投入资源,兼顾环境永续,为利害关系人创造价值,迈向共荣、共好的未来。

世界先进董事长

方略