Charity and Social Participation

Volunteer Services

In 2015, embracing the spirit of "From the Society, For the Society," VIS founded VIS Volunteer Program, and set the objective of making the world a better place through "chosen themes and long-term investment". In 2019, in addition to original services of education in indigenous villages, VIS Volunteer Program expanded its scope of services, reaching out to senior citizens living alone by dining with them, accompanying children at halfway houses, and raising funds and goods. In 2019, VIS employees and family members engaged a total of 164 person-times of volunteering, accumulating a total of 550 hours of volunteering services.

Volunteering Achievements over Past Three Years
Item 2017 2018 2019
Person-Time 23 40 164
Hour 77 134 550
Indigenous Village Education

VIS Volunteer Program chose the Unique Atayal College in Hsinchu County as the first recipient of its services, and the sponsorship included: book raising for children, having employees volunteering as reading companions, inviting children to partake in the Company's Family Day activities, and taking the children to the National Palace Museum.

After the Unique Atayal College, VIS volunteers have entered the Smangus Tribal Village in Jianshi Township, Hsinchu County, since 2017; after the kindergarten donated by the Company was built, the volunteers also raised books for pre-school children, and read the books with them. Through monthly visits, VIS volunteers have accompanied the children to make crafts, tell stories, and play games; the program has continued until today. In 2019, VIS employees continued to make use of monthly holidays to visit the children of the kindergarten.

Moreover, on Family Sports Day, VIS invited Atayal children of the Skikun Culture and Creative Dance Group from Yilan for an exciting opening performance. After the performance, VIS made arrangement for them to visit 'TSMC-NCTU Energy Education Center – Orchid House,' where engineers explained to the children how to achieve environmental protection through energy-saving design, blending education with entertainment.

Image
Dining with Senior Citizens

Responding to TSMC Charity Foundation Chairwoman Sophie Chang's "Cherishing Food" concept, VIS Volunteer Program expanded its scope of services in 2019, making "dining with neighborhood senior citizens" a routine service. VIS' catering supplier was invited to jointly donate lunch boxes to deliver to senior citizens living alone in the two villages, Baoshan and Kehu, around Fab 1 and Fab 2, twice a month, and VIS volunteers would visit the senior citizens and dine and talk with them once a month, caring for their health and wellbeing.

Image
Visiting Children at Halfway Houses

In 2019, VIS Volunteer Program also expanded service scope to halfway houses, mainly serving Taoyuan LOHAS Preschool and SOS Children's Village in Taoyuan. VIS volunteers visited LOHAS Preschool monthly to read and play games with children, and teach them computer and violin, as well as leading them to a field trip to YesHealth iFarm for environmental education. Also, VIS volunteers also raised used and new goods and sponsored children of SOS Children's Village for charity auction. The revenue of the charity auction, NT$89,600, was then used by SOS Children's Village as annual operation fee.

LOHAS Preschool Principal Mei-lan Wu especially thanked VIS employees for bringing violins to the preschool and teaching the children how to play. Through learning the instrument, these children, who had been hurt before, could find relief for suppressed emotions, as well as pains that could not be expressed by words. Art therapy was expensive, and VIS employees, who were skilled violinists, provided the children instruments and visited the preschool regularly to teach them how to play, helping the preschool to save a significant amount of expense for art therapy, while also inspiring the children's interest in music.

Image
Donation of Goods and Supplies

In early 2020, the outbreak of COVID-19 affected Taiwan and the world. At the beginning of the pandemic, VIS purchased 2,000 children masks and donated to the halfway houses that worked with VIS Volunteer Program. The children did not have to wait in line to get masks, reducing the workload of social workers and supervisors at the halfway houses. During the height of the pandemic in April, VIS also responded to TSMC Charity Foundation's initiative, and donated 31 gas masks used in the labs at VIS fabs to doctors and lab technicians. VIS also sent engineers to train the doctors and technicians on how to put on the professional gas masks, providing first-line medical professionals the highest grade protective gear, so that they would not be infected when caring for patients.

Furthermore, VIS employees raised goods and supplies, including food, used shoes and clothing, and computers for LOHAS Preschool, SOS Children's Village, and Hsinchu Renai Children's Home, as well as other non-profiting organizations. VIS employees raised supplies and goods equivalent to NT$510,000.

公益與社會參與

志工活動

世界先進志工社於2015年成立,以「選定主題長期投入、讓世界更美好」為宗旨,投入原住民偏鄉教育與社區服務多年。2019年,志工社除了既有的原鄉教育外,更擴大服務範圍,將觸角延伸到與陪伴社區長輩共餐、陪伴中途之家兒童成長與學習,以及物資勸募。2019年,世界先進同仁與眷屬投入的志工人次達164人次,志工服務時數為550小時。

近三年志工投入成果
項目 2017年 2018年 2019年
志工投入人次 23 40 164
志工投入時數 77 134 550
原鄉教育

新竹縣泰雅學堂是世界先進志工社的第一個志工服務對象,贊助的內容包括:為學童募書、召集同仁擔任導讀志工、邀請學童參加公司家庭日活動、帶領學童至故宮參訪。

繼泰雅學堂之後,世界先進志工社自2017年開始,前進新竹縣尖石鄉的司馬庫斯部落,在公司捐贈之司馬庫斯幼兒園落成之後,也為幼兒園募書並為小朋友導讀,以每個月一次的頻率,陪伴小朋友做勞作、說故事與玩遊戲,一直持續至今。2019年,世界先進同仁仍持續利用每個月的廠休日,到司馬庫斯陪伴幼兒園的的小朋友,一起快樂學習。

此外,世界先進在「趣味運動家庭日」當天,邀請宜蘭縣四季文化舞蹈團的泰雅族原住民小朋友做了一場精彩的原住民舞蹈開幕表演,並於表演結束後,安排他們參觀「台積電-交大能源教育館(蘭花屋)」,由工程師為小朋友解說如何透過一間房子的節能設計,達到環保愛地球的效果,寓教於樂。

Image
長輩共餐

受到台積公司慈善基金會張淑芬董事長不浪費食物的「惜食」號召,世界先進志工社在2019年擴增規模,新增「陪社區長輩共餐」的例行性活動。由世界先進與團膳供應商一同出資準備午餐餐盒,每個月兩次送餐至晶圓一廠與晶圓二廠廠區附近的二個鄉里-寶山鄉與柯湖里,發放給獨居長輩,並由志工同仁每月一次,陪伴他們一同用餐聊天,關懷他們的身心健康。

Image
中途之家兒童探訪

2019年志工社亦將探訪觸角延伸到中途之家,主要服務對象包括桃園樂活育幼院與國際兒童村。志工社在樂活育幼院的服務內容包括:每月定期陪伴院童閱讀、玩遊戲,以及院童的電腦、小提琴教學,亦帶領院童參訪桃園源鮮農場水耕蔬菜園區,進行環境教育。此外,志工社同仁也募集同仁的二手品與新購物資,贊助國際兒童村小朋友的義賣會,並將義賣所得新台幣89,600元全數提供國際兒童村,作為其年度營運經費。

樂活育幼院吳美蘭院長特別感謝世界先進的同仁,帶著小提琴到院裡教院童拉琴。寄情於音樂學習,讓這些受過傷的孩子能夠逐漸釋放壓抑的情緒,以及語言表達不出來的傷痛。但藝術治療所費不貲,公司有同仁擅長拉琴,且提供樂器,定期到院區教院童拉琴,無疑幫助育幼院節省下一筆藝術治療的龐大的費用,也啟發院童對音樂的興趣。

Image
物資勸募

2020年初,新冠肺炎疫情席捲台灣與全世界。世界先進在疫情爆發之初,即先購買2,000個兒童用口罩,捐贈給志工同仁服務的幾個中途之家,讓院童可以不用排隊領口罩,減輕中途之家社工與督導的工作量。4月疫情蔓延之時,世界先進亦接受台積電慈善基金會號召,捐贈公司晶圓廠實驗室所使用的31組防毒面罩給醫檢師團體,並提供工程師訓練操作人員如何穿戴專業防毒面罩,讓第一線的醫護人員有高防禦等級的裝置,避免在照顧病患時被病毒感染。

此外,世界先進同仁勸募的物資包括食物、文具、二手衣鞋、電腦給樂活育幼院、桃園國際兒童村、新竹仁愛之家與其他非營利組織。物資勸募的相對金額約為新台幣51萬元