Environment, Safety and Health

Implementation of Environmental Protection

Climate Change

Climate change is a major topic of discussion in the United Nations and among governments, societies, and corporate bodies worldwide. This is also the case for VIS. The VIS Corporate Social Responsibility Promotion Committee has incorporated climate change issues into project implementation and promotion. Since 2016, VIS has conducted carbon and water footprint inventories for company products in recent years as the basis for future GHG emissions reduction measures. VIS introduced environmental accounting and the ISO 50001 Energy Management System in 2017 to strengthen the Company's environmental management tools. In 2018, VIS introduced the material flow cost analysis method and ISO 14064- 1 Scope 3 inventory, which have both passed SGS third-party verification. In addition to introducing different analysis projects, VIS has also utilized the analysis results to identify the risks and opportunities brought by global climate change in the three aspects of risk matrix: laws and regulations, weather-related disasters, and influences of other behaviors; moreover, VIS conduct corresponding action plans and measure the effectiveness. Since 2014, VIS has voluntarily participated in the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) to disclose climate change-related information on a yearly basis which includes information on GHG emissions and reductions. In addition, we conduct inspections and make improvements on risks and opportunities relating to legal regulations, natural disasters, finance, and business operations. External bodies are able to access relevant information on the CDP website.

Climate Risk Impact Description Financial Impact Climate Opportunity Measure
Impact on Company Image Cannot satisfy stakeholder expectations resulting in negative impact on company reputation or image Stakeholders willingness to invest lowers, resulting in decreased revenue Increase stakeholders' willingness of long-term investment, stabilize shareholder structure
  • Satisfy stakeholders' demand of energy-saving products, engage in green design of products
  • Targeting manufacturing process, enhance green management, obtaining ISO 50001 Energy Management System, ISO 14001 Environmental Management, and ISO 14064-1 GHG Inventory certifications
Policy/Regulatory Requirements Greenhouse Gas Reduction and Management Act Fines and fees result in increased operation cost Improve energy efficiency to lower operation cost
  • Proactively implement GHG emissions management measures. Achieving 14.7% GHG emissions reduction per unit area of wafer in 2019
Renewable Energy Development Act Install renewable energy power generation facilities resulting in increased operation cost Develop renewable energy in advance to facilitate corporate energy diversification
  • Introduce renewable energy, plan installation of renewable energy facilities, such as solar PV system, and purchase RECs
Global Fuel Price Increase Fluctuation of fuel price affects production and operation costs Fuel price increases resulting in increased production and operation costs Develop renewable energy in advance to facilitate corporate energy diversification
  • Introduce renewable energy, plan installation of renewable energy facilities, such as solar PV system, and purchase RECs
Stakeholders' Increasing Level of Concern for Low-Carbon Products and Services Cannot satisfy stakeholders' needs for low-carbon products and services, resulting in lowered purchase intention Development cost for low-carbon products and services increase Offer low-carbon products and services to earn stakeholders' trust
  • Utilize specific wafer manufacturing technology to develop low-carbon design products; enhance product efficiency to respond to market demands
Cost of Innovative Technology Production Cannot develop innovative technology and consequently eliminated by the market Cost of innovative technology production increase Proactively develop innovative technology in response to industrial pulses and market growth demands
  • Continue to increase investment in R&D of products and manufacturing processes; develop power management related BCD and UHV technology
Supply Chain Breakage Cannot deliver on time or keep the promise of stable supply to customers Compensate customers' losses, resulting in increased operation cost Proactively enhance stability of supply chain
  • Implement supplier audit mechanism, enhance supplier quality and environmental management capacity
  • Require suppliers to submit post-disaster impact and recovery plan to lower the risk of supply chain breakage
Change in Consumer Behavior Consumers aware of effects of climate change, and refuse to purchase products and services that are not energy-saving or low-carbon Consumers' willingness to buy lowers, resulting in decreased revenue Offer low-carbon products and services to earn stakeholders' trust
  • Utilize specific wafer manufacturing technology to develop low-carbon design products; enhance product efficiency to respond to market demands
Intensified Extreme Weather Events Typhoons, floods, and draughts lead to reduced capacity or interrupted production Capacity disruption results in decreased revenue Enhance production line's resilience of natural disasters
  • Formulate crisis management procedure, establish disaster prevention and response system, including employee flood drill, typhoon prevention measures, establishment of river level monitoring system, and installation of flood prevention gate

Since 2005, VIS has utilized third-party verification for annual greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and submitted annual reports of GHG emission to the Taiwan Semiconductor Industry Association (TSIA) and EPA, Executive Yuan. VIS conducts its GHG inventories by following ISO/CNS 14064-1 standards, the Executive Yuan Environmental Protection Administration (EPA) Greenhouse Gas Validation Guidelines, "Greenhouse Gas Emission Inventory Registration Guidelines," and the WBCSD/WRI GHG Protocol, with 100% control to define organizational boundaries (Operational Control Act). The inventory data are 3rd party verified by SGS.

VIS's latest GHG emissions are 711.1 thousand tons CO2e in 2017, 787.6 thousand tons CO2e in 2018, and 722.6 thousand tons CO2e in 2019. The increase in emissions is due to the continuous growth of production. As for the GHG reduction, VIS has installed local scrubbers for treating process gases. The F-gas reduction in the last three years from 2017~2019 are 285.3 thousand tons CO2e, 327.6 thousand tons CO2e, and 258.0 thousand tons CO2e, respectively. VIS' GHG reduction goal is to reduce GHG emissions per unit area of wafer to 20% lower than the 2015 level by 2020; currently, VIS has reduced GHG emissions by 14.7%.

Energy Management

Emphasizing risk management, green production, and energy shock, VIS involves all employees in the operation of energy management system to achieve the goals of meeting regulatory requirements, answering customers' demands, and enhancing power usage effectiveness (PUE). To achieve these goals, VIS is committed to continue implementing and improving the following:

Air Pollution Control

VIS adopts classification at source, and best feasible technology in multiple phases to implement air pollution control. Then VIS processes the pollutant before effectively treating it using high-performance control equipment. The content of pollutant emitted into the atmosphere is less than (or conforms to) the amount specified in government regulations. Based on VIS's annual test results, the concentration and emission of air pollutants were substantially lower than the permitted amount allowed by the EPA of Executive Yuan. Proper backup systems, including emergency power, have been setup to ensure normal operation in the event of equipment failure, thereby reduce the risk of abnormal discharge of pollutants. Equipment for processing VOCs uses clean, natural gas as fuel, but it is also equipped with other fuel supply systems. If problems arise with the supply of natural gas, backup fuel can be used instead to ensure the smooth operation of our pollution prevention facilities. According to the statistics of air pollution emissions, all VIS plants have VOCs systems that are equipped with rotor processing equipment. In 2019, Fab 1 added a new VOCs system that achieved removal rate better than the legal requirement (>90%), and the average removal efficiency of VOCs in plant areas was 93.43%, which was better than the 92% established by the environmental impact assessment best available control technology.

VIS has set the goal for 2020 to reduce VOCs emissions per unit area of wafer by 10% compared to the 2015 level. By 2019, VOCs emission per unit area of wafer has been reduced by 6.2% lower than the 2015 level.

Water Resource Management and Water Pollution Prevention

VIS maximizes the reuse of water discharged from its manufacturing processes. Based on the characteristics of the discharged water, VIS has established over 10 types of water discharge pipes according to water quality and user demands. Recycling systems are used to reduce wastewater discharge and ease the burden on the environment, as well as prevent the use of tap water as refills, thereby conserve water resources.

VIS's water pollution prevention strategy is focused on reducing the generation of pollutants, then recycling and treating water pollutants by using effective equipment to make sure that the quality of discharged water is better than or equal to the standards set by the government. VIS also continued to take measures in reducing the concentration of Tetramethylammonium hydroxide (TMAH) and ammonia nitrogen (NH3-N) in water discharges in order to mitigate the harmful effects of water discharge.

VIS has set the goal of reducing water conservation per unit area of wafer to 13% lower than the level of 2015 by 2020. By 2019, VIS has reduced water consumption per unit area of wafer to 18.5% lower than the 2015 level.

The amount of tap water consumed by VIS was 4.99 million metric tons and 4.98 million metric tons in 2018 and 2019 respectively. The aforementioned data were verified in SGS Product Water Footprint Verification commissioned to SGS once every two years by VIS, which was completed by August 2020.

Waste Management and Resources Recycle

Waste management at VIS has shifted from the traditional approach of cleaning and disposing of wastes to an integration of resource management. VIS has designated professional technician for waste disposal management, and adhered to the spirit of ISO 14001 to formulate detailed management regulations. In addition, VIS requires its employees to comply with requirements mandated for the classification, collection, storage, and clearance of wastes. To facilitate sustainable utilization of resources, the primary principle of waste management is to reduce the use of processed chemicals, which in turn lowers waste output. Furthermore, we prioritize in the recycle and reuse of waste materials. We view other treatment methods such as incineration and burial of wastes as a last resort.

A waste recycle rate greater than 90% is required for all VIS plants. Monthly plant recycle rate reports are submitted to supervisors and environmental safety committee monitors to track our progress. In the future, we will continue to decrease our use of raw materials, seek qualified recycling organizations, and help these organizations develop advanced waste recycling technologies to achieve sustainable resource utilization, energy conservation, and carbon reduction. With VIS's continued efforts, recycle rates have increased to over 90% over the past five years.

Total waste production in 2018 was 6,933 metric tons, and 6,492 metric tons in 2019; the aforementioned data were verified in the biennial SGS Product Carbon Footprint Verification, which was completed by August 2020.

環保、安全與衛生

環保執行情形

氣候變遷

氣候變遷議題為聯合國、各國政府、社會與企業界目前最關注的環境議題之一,對世界先進亦然。「世界先進企業社會責任推動委員會」,近年來積極推動氣候變遷議題相關的專案。自2016年起,執行了公司產品碳足跡與水足跡之盤查, 2017年導入環境會計及ISO 50001能源管理系統,2018年亦導入了物質流成本分析方法及ISO 14064-1範疇三盤查,並皆已經通過SGS第三方外部查證。除導入各項專案分析外,並將分析後結果利用風險矩陣之法規、氣候災害及其他行為影響三大面向,鑑別出全球氣候變遷為世界先進所帶來的風險與機會,並針對風險與機會採取有效行動方案,並評估其有效性。自2014年起,世界先進自願性回應非營利組織碳揭露計劃(Carbon Disclosure Project, CDP),每年揭露氣候變遷管理相關訊息,包含溫室氣體排放與減量資訊,並就法規、天災、財務與營運各面向之風險與機會進行檢討改善。外界可以於CDP網站中查詢相關資訊。

氣候風險 衝擊描述 財務影響 氣候機會 因應作為
公司形象衝擊 無法滿足利害關係人期待,造成公司聲譽或形象受損害 利害關係人投資意願降低,造成營收減少 提升利害關係人長期投資意願,穩定股東結構
  • 滿足利害關係人對節能產品的需求,投入產品綠色設計
  • 針對製程強化綠色管理,主動取得ISO 50001能源管理系統、ISO 14001環境管理、ISO 14064-1溫室氣體盤查等認證
政策/法規要求 《溫室氣體減量及管理法》 罰款、規費等造成營運成本增加 改善能源效率,藉機降低營運成本
  • 積極實踐各項溫室氣體排放管理措施,2019年已達成單位晶圓面積溫室氣體排放量減量14.7%
《再生能源發展條例》 設置再生能源發電設備,造成營運成本增加 提前發展再生能源計畫,促進企業能源多元化
  • 導入再生能源,規劃建置可再生能源發電設備,如太陽能發電系統,及購買《可再生能源證書》
全球燃料價格上漲 燃料價格波動影響生產及營運成本 燃料價格上漲,造成生產及營運成本增加 提前發展再生能源計畫,促進企業能源多元化
  • 導入再生能源,規劃建置可再生能源發電設備,如太陽能發電系統,及購買《可再生能源證書》
利害關係人對低碳產品服務的關注提升 無法滿足利害關係人對低碳產品與服務的需求,造成其購買意願降低 低碳產品與服務開發成本增加 提供低碳產品與服務,取得利害關係人信任
  • 發揮特殊晶圓製造技術,開發低碳設計產品,提升產品效率,以回應市場需求
創新技術生產之成本 無法發展與時俱進的創新技術,導致遭受市場淘汰 創新技術生產之成本增加 配合產業脈動及市場成長需 求,積極發展創新技術
  • 持續增加產品及製程研發上的投資,研發電源控制相關的BCD製程、超高壓製成等技術
供應鏈中斷 無法按期出貨、兌現對客戶穩定貨源的承諾 向客戶支付損害賠償金,造成營運支出增加 積極提升供應鏈的穩定性
  • 落實供應商考核機制,強化供應商品質與環境管理能力
  • 要求供應商提出災後影響及復原計畫,以減少供應中斷風險
消費者行為改變 消費者意識到氣候變遷的影響,拒絕採購非低碳節能的產品與服務 消費者購買意願降低,造成營收減少 提供低碳產品與服務,取得利害關係人信任
  • 發揮特殊晶圓製造技術,開發低碳設計產品,提升產品效率,以回應市場需求
極端天氣事件增強 風災、水災與乾旱導致產能減少或中斷 產能中斷,造成營收減少 提升產線抵禦天災之能力
  • 訂定危機管理程序,建置防災應變系統,包含員工防汛演練、颱風預防措施、河川水位監控系統建置、防水閘門建置

自2005年起,世界先進每年均委託第三方公正單位完成溫室氣體排放資訊查證,並申報結果予台灣半導體產業協會及行政院環境保護署。公司之溫室氣體查證作業乃參考ISO/CNS 14064-1 及行政院環境保護署溫室氣體查驗指引、「溫室氣體排放量盤查登錄作業指引」與WBCSD/WRI 溫室氣體盤查議定書之要求,以100%控制權的方式設定組織邊界(營運控制法),並經由台灣檢驗股份有限公司(SGS)完成ISO 14064-1溫室氣體查證。

世界先進最近三年度溫室氣體排放量分別為2017年71.11萬噸CO2e、2018年78.76萬噸CO2e及2019年72.26萬噸CO2e。排放量逐年上升係源於產能擴增。然公司已安裝現址式處理設備,針對製程氣體排放減量有成,近三年氟性氣體減量分別為2017年28.53萬公噸CO2e、2018年32.76萬公噸CO2e及2019年25.8萬噸CO2e。世界先進之減碳目標為,2020年之單位晶圓面積溫室氣體排放量較2015年再降低20%;目前已達成14.7%。

能源管理

世界先進以風險管理、綠色生產及能源衝擊考量為基礎,全員參與能源管理系統之運作,達成符合法規、客戶要求、提升能源使用效率之目標。為達成此目標,公司承諾持續進行及改善下列各項工作:

世界先進訂定2020年單位晶圓面積用電量較2015再降低10%為節 能目標。截至2019年止,單位晶圓面積用電量已較2015降低28.7%。

空氣污染防制

世界先進在污染防制的做法,採用源頭分類、多段處理的最佳可行技術,再經由高效能防制設備,將廢氣中的污染物有效處理,排放入大氣中之污染物含量少於(或符合)政府規定。各晶圓廠均設置包含緊急電源在內的妥善備援系統,以確保萬一運轉中若發生部分設備故障,仍可由備援系統自動代之,降低污染物異常排放的風險。揮發性有機廢氣處理設備需使用較潔淨的天然氣為燃料,但也設置其他備用燃料供應系統,在天然氣供應發生問題時,可使用備用燃料,確保污染防制設備得以正常操作。空氣污染排放統計世界先進所有廠區之揮發性有機廢氣系統皆設置沸石轉輪處理設備,於2019年,晶圓一廠新增一座揮發性有機物處理防制設備,使去除率更有效控制並優於法規要求(>90%),所有廠區揮發性有機廢氣平均去除率達93.53%,優於環評最佳可行控制技術92%。世界先進訂定2020年單位晶圓面積有機性揮發物(VOC)排放量較2015年再降低10%。截至2019年止,單位晶圓面積有機性揮發物排放量已較2015年降低6.2%。

水資源管理與水污染防治

世界先進將製程使用後的排水充份再利用,依照排水特性區分為超過10種以上的不同排水管路,相關排放廢水,依照水質及使用端的需求,經由回收水系統處理後使用,不但可降低廢水排放量,減輕環境負擔,同時也減少自來水補水量,節省水資源。

在水污染防治方面,可分為減少製程污染物用量、藉由高效率設備進行水回收與水中污染物處理,以達排放水質優於或符合政府的規定。世界先進亦持續進行降低排放水氫氧化四甲基銨(TMAH)、氨氮(NH3-N)等濃度,以減少對排放水體的危害。

世界先進訂定2020年單位晶圓面積用水量較2015年再降低13%為節水目標。至2019年底為止,單位晶圓面積用水量已較2015年降低18.5%。

2018年及2019年自來水用量,隨著產能及製程用水回收率增加而有所變化,分別為4.99百萬噸及4.98百萬噸;前述數據將透過本公司兩年一次委託SGS進行之產品水足跡查證,已於2020年八月完成。

廢棄物管理與資源回收

世界先進廢棄物管理的觀念已由傳統的清理、處置轉化為綜合資源管理,並設有廢棄物清理專業技術人員,並依ISO 14001之精神,訂定廢棄物處理管制程序,要求全體同仁應確實遵守分類、收集、貯存及清除處理等各階段要求事項。為了資源永續利用,廢棄物管理的首要原則為製程化學物質減用,藉此減少廢棄物的產生量,再者為廢棄物物質回收再利用,最後才是焚化、衛生掩埋等其他處理方式。

世界先進訂定各廠之事業廢棄物回收再利用率之管制值須高於90%,各廠再利用率每月皆呈報主管,並於環境暨安全委員會追蹤其達成狀況;未來將持續透過製程原物料減量、尋找新的合法再利用廠商以及協助廠商發展新的廢棄物回收再利用技術,以達珍惜資源、節能減碳的目標。經由世界先進持續努力,近五年來的再利用率皆已提升至90%以上。

廢棄物總產出量2018年為6,933公噸、2019年為6,493公噸;前述數據將透過本公司兩年一次委託SGS進行之產品碳足跡查證,已於2020年八月完成。