Supply Chain Management

With regard to supplier selection, potential raw material suppliers must operate according to VIS's supplier management policies as well as the "Vendor Safety, Health, and Environment Audit Management Guidelines"; suppliers must follow these guidelines and complete relevant evaluation procedures before they are selected to become qualified vendors.

The evaluation process includes a preliminary review and an on-site audit. Our Supplier Quality Management Department conducts the preliminary reviews, then invites our Risk and Environmental Safety Management Department, as well as any other relevant departments to conduct inspections. The audits include areas such as environmental protection, health and safety, etc. Finally, our Supplier Quality Management, Procurement, Materials Management, and Risks and Environmental Health and Safety Management Departments jointly select suitable suppliers based on the audit results. In addition, the same evaluation procedures also apply to our existing suppliers. We demand constant improvements of our suppliers in order to raise their competitiveness in product quality, delivery time, costs, and services. VIS' supply chain covers an extensive range of expertise and applications, including international and domestic equipment suppliers, component suppliers, raw material suppliers (8" wafers, chemicals, gases, photoresist materials, and metal targets), engineering services, information software facilities, office supplies (including computer, communication, and consumer electronics), information software, and outsourced manpower (security services, cleaning, dormitories, and transportation vehicles). VIS has over 1,000 partners worldwide, of which 5% are international and 95% are domestic suppliers (including manufacturers with branch offices in Taiwan, distributors, and wholesalers).

VIS Supplier Code of Conduct

Green Supply Chain

VIS views all suppliers as business partners, we hope to build strong, long lasting relationships with our suppliers, while jointly establishing competitive, sustainable supply chain partnerships.

Apart from closely monitoring the product quality, delivery time, costs, and services provided by our suppliers, we also constantly push them to enhance their competitiveness, protect the environment, continue to improve a safe and healthy environment, value employee rights, schedule reasonable work hours, prohibit the use of child labor, and emphasize gender equality.

We seek to fulfill our corporate social responsibilities together with the suppliers, while developing effective risk management and business continuity plans. These are VIS' long-term goals which we will continue to focus on and strive to achieve. In order to fulfill these goals, the Procurement Department not only strives to fulfill its CSR obligations, but also prioritizes the purchase of energy-saving products with environmental protection labels, and engages in the green procurement of government-promoted energy-saving environment-friendly products with environmental protection labels including computer equipment, office papers, and electrical appliances.

The total amount of funds VIS has spent on green procurement over the past 5 years has reached NT$114.8 million.

VIS will not stop here, however, to further expand our influential power, we urged all suppliers to comply with HSF, safety, health, environmental policies, as well as fulfill their CSR obligations and perform their due diligence in managing conflict minerals by following relevant international/domestic laws and regulations. We also required our downstream suppliers to sign commitment guarantee letters to fulfill their corporate citizenship role and extend their activity scope downward. This not only facilitates our environmental protection efforts, but also expands VIS' contribution to CSR.

Management of Conflict Minerals

As for the management of conflict minerals, VIS is fully compliant with the Electronic Industry Code of Conduct (EICC), as well as the conflict minerals source disclosure regulations recently issued by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (Rule 13p-1 of the U.S. Securities Exchange Act of 1934), to avoid purchasing conflict minerals (gold, tin, tantalum, tungsten, and other minerals that may be specified in the future by the EICC) from specified countries (Democratic Republic of the Congo and neighboring countries).

VIS also requires all suppliers to guarantee their minerals are from EICC/GeSI approved refineries (conflict-free smelter), establish a mechanism of reasonable certainty, exercise their due diligence, and acquire relevant certifications. For refineries not approved by the EICC/GeSI, we request them to obtain certification from EICC/GeSI or a third party audit organization, which will verify that the minerals used by the company and its suppliers are not conflict minerals.

In consideration of customer concern over information on the management of conflict minerals, the procuring department provides the most up-to-date Conflict Minerals Reporting Template (CMRT) on VIS's online system to facilitate customer access to relevant management information. Customers can make online inquiries and download the template from the platform anytime.

Localization Strategy of Supply Chains

The development of semiconductor industries in European countries, the United States, Japan, and South Korea started earlier than Taiwan, which provided them with technological advantages, as well as the control of key techniques and raw materials. Although Taiwan's semiconductor industry has attempted to surpass the performance of these countries through continued improvements, it remains reliant on foreign imports for machinery equipment, raw materials, and software applications.

VIS firmly believes that by supporting domestic supply chains, it will not only facilitate the improvement of domestic supply chains, but also increase employment opportunities, elevate the quality of employees and raise employees' salary standards, and boost domestic economy, all of which could exert tangible benefits, divert risks, and reduce relevant costs. In addition, with the length of transportation routes significantly shortened, we will be able to exercise our corporate social responsibility by reducing carbon emissions!

Under our long-term efforts in implementing local procurement strategies, in 2017 VIS collaborated with over 1,000 partners worldwide, of which 5% are international and 95% are domestic suppliers (including manufacturers with branch offices in Taiwan, distributors, and wholesalers). Our domestic purchases amounted to NT$3 billion, and we have furthermore contributed NT$21 billion over the past 5 years (2012 to 2016). We will continue to devote our efforts in this area with the hope of maximizing our contributions to the society.

Please refer to the section on "supply chain management" in VIS CSR Report for other supplier management related regulations.

供應鏈管理

世界先進針對潛在原物料供應商皆須依循供應商管理作業,並依據「協力廠商安全衛生與環境稽核管理辦法」,待通過評鑑相關流程,成為世界先進合格供應商後,始能向該供應商進行採購。

評核程序包括初步調查及實地稽核,由世界先進供應商品質管理部門執行初步調查與規格審查,並邀請風險暨環安管理部及相關部門進行稽核程序,稽核內容包含環境保護、安全衛生等。最後再由供應商品質管理、採購、物管及風險暨環安管理等跨部門組織,就調查與稽核評比結果篩選出合格之供應商。另外,針對現有合格供應商,亦有執行相關評核作業以進行考核,並要求供應商應持續改善,不斷提升品質、交期、成本與服務之競爭力。

世界先進的供應鏈範圍涵蓋廣泛,從國內外機台設備商、零件商、原物料(包含八吋晶圓、化學品、氣體、光阻、靶材)、工程服務到資訊軟體設施、辦公用品(含電腦3C設備)、資訊軟體、人力外包(警勤、清潔、宿舍、交通車)等,全球合作廠商超過一千家,其中國外原廠約佔5%,國內廠商(含原廠在台分公司、代理商、經銷商)佔95%。

綠色供應鏈

世界先進將供應商視為商業夥伴,與供應商長期合作,共同建立與發展穩固、具競爭力且永續的供應鏈夥伴關係。

我們除了重視供應商產品的品質、交期、價格與服務,並要求持續提升競爭力之外,也敦促他們善盡保護環境之責、持續改善安全與衛生的環境、重視員工人權、合理工時、禁用童工及兩性平權,並共同為善盡企業的社會責任努力,更應做好風險管理與營運持續計劃。此為公司所持續關注並列為長期努力的方向,為達到此目標,採購部門不僅致力於落實企業社會責任的角色,於進行採購時,優先考量具環保規章之各式節能產品,響應政府推動之節能環保產品,包含電腦設備、辦公室用紙與電器等具有各式環保標章之綠色採購。

世界先進綠色採購過去5年累積金額達到 NT$114.8M。

另外,我們不以此為滿足,為進一步擴大自身的影響力,亦敦促供應商配合公司的有害物質(HSF)政策、安全衛生與環境政策、履行企業社會責任、善盡衝突礦產之盡責管理(Due Diligence),及國內外相關法規之規範,要求下游供應鏈必須配合簽署承諾保證書,善盡企業公民的角色,將觸角向下延伸,不僅對地球友善環境善盡一份心力,也擴大世界先進對企業社會責任的貢獻。

衝突礦產管理

在衝突礦產(Conflict Minerals)管理方面,依照國際組織E.I.C.C.(Electronic Industry Code of Conduct)之要求,並符合美國證卷交易委員會新頒布關於衝突礦產來源揭露的規定(Rule 13p-1 of the U.S. Securities Exchange Act of 1934),避免自特定國家(剛果民主共和國或其鄰近國家)購買衝突礦產(金、錫、鉭、鎢及其它未來可能被EICC國際電子產業企業公民責任聯盟規定之特定礦產)。

世界先進除了對供應商進行宣告,要求供應商其礦產的最終來源必須是來自EICC/GeSI所公告認證核可表中之精鍊廠(Conflict-Free Smelter),建立合理確認機制(Reasonable Certainty),並善盡盡責管理(Due Diligence),取得相關證明文件;對於非EICC/GeSI認證核可表內既有之精鍊廠,公司亦要求供應商之精鍊廠應向EICC/GeSI或第三公證稽核單位提出認證申請,並通過認證,以確保公司及供應鏈所使用之礦產皆屬非衝突礦產。

另外,有鑒於衝突礦產之管理資訊亦為客戶所關切,採購單位為便利客戶取得相關管理資訊,將CMRT(Conflict Minerals Reporting Template)之最新表單,主動揭露於VIS Online系統,供客戶便於隨時上網查詢並下載。

供應鏈的在地化策略

由於歐美、日本與韓國等國家發展半導體較早,不僅技術領先,也掌握許多關鍵技術與原物料,國內的半導體相關業者雖然全力追趕、不斷提升,但大多數的採購,從機器設備、原物料到軟體等,仍需仰賴國外進口。

世界先進認為,扶植國內相關產業鏈,不僅對於國內產業鏈的提升有幫助,對於創造就業機會、提昇產業從業人員素質及薪資水準,並活絡國內經濟,都能夠發揮實質的效益,同時,亦可以達到分散風險與降低成本的目的;此外,隨著運輸的路徑大幅縮短,亦可達到減碳的效果,為地球的碳排放問題,善盡企業社會責任!

在我們長期致力於在地化的採購策略下,2017年全球合作廠商超過一千家,其中國外原廠約佔5%,國內廠商(含原廠在台分公司、代理商、經銷商)佔95%,國內採購總金額約為新台幣30億元,近五年(2012~2016年)累積國內採購的總金額約新台幣210億元,我們將持續在此部分盡一己之力,期對社會不斷提升並擴大貢獻。

其他有關公司供應商管理相關規範請詳世界先進企業社會責任報告書「供應鏈管理」段落。